Cadwell Park (Wolds Trophy) – 28 June 2015

Cadwell Park (Wolds Trophy) ByBox Historic Touring Cars

Race Report

Following a glorious Saturday at this two day meeting Sunday dawned overcast and although the rain was restricted to sporadic light showers the threat was there throughout the day. A handful of non-starters meant that only twenty cars lined up for practice and the red Alfa of David Alexander sported a tribute to Dave Cabena who died suddenly at the start of the week.

Mark Davis took pole in his ex-Joe Gomm class C Lotus Cortina almost a second clear of Tim Davies’ class B Cortina with Mike Gardiners similar class B Cortina a further couple of seconds back. Behind them a trio of Mustangs sat poised to monster past the Cortinas if the track dried for the race with Pete Hallford’s yellow car ahead of the red versions of Neil Brown and Warren Briggs. Richard Dutton’s Cortina, Bob Bullen’s Anglia (with spare engine installed following his Snetterton woes) and the Imps of Andy Jones (first time out after a long family break) and Simon Benoy completed the top ten. Further back the Mini of Michael Wade/Nigel Parry and the very smart Imp of Graham Briggs made their first outings with the HRSR. Stuart Kerr had his first outing of the year in his Imp and the rorty DKW 2-strokes brought up the back of the grid in the hands of Tim Bishop and Mike Ryman.

The Cortinas all got the power down well and Mark Davies led race one from the start but cresting the Mountain towards the end of the opening lap he slowed with a broken halfshaft and, with no spare available, his weekend was over. Tim Davies inherited the lead ahead of Mike Gardiner and the cheeky class E Chamois of Andy Jones followed by the three Mustangs and Richard Dutton’s Cortina. The Mustangs and Cortina all got ahead of Andy on lap two and had a close race for a couple of laps as the front pair pulled a couple of seconds ahead. All changed on lap five as Mike Gardiner retired his Cortina with oil problems and Richard Dutton caused Mayhem at the Gooseneck as he made a move on Warren Briggs’ Mustang but lost control and went hard in to the barriers causing the race to be red flagged with the result being called at the end of lap four. John Avill had moved his Cortina up to fifth ahead of Andy, Simon Benoy’s Imp and Roger Godfrey’s Mini. Bob Bullen’s down on power Anglia took class C ahead of David Lloyd’s Mustang and John Pugsley’s Cortina.

The second race of the afternoon ran the full course and a depleted field of 17 cars treated the Cadwell crowd to a great 3 car dice at the front. Tim Davies led in his Cortina the whole race but never by more than a second or so as the Mustangs of Pete Hallford and Warren Briggs fought mightily for second place. Warren eventually found a way past Pete in to second on lap 8 which he managed to hold until the end. Neil Brown should have been in the mix too but his car refused to start as the cars left the assembly area and he joined the grid at the back after coaxing the Mustang to life. He made good ground up to 10th place on the first lap but found overtaking harder as he got behind faster cars on the narrow Cadwell straights and finished a creditable fifth behind John Avill’s enthusiastically driven Cortina – perhaps a bit too enthusiastic as he was penalised 5 seconds for exceeding track limits! Behind them Simon Benoy and Andy Jones were close for the entire race with Simon holding the advantage from the start and although Andy closed to within a tenth of a second as they started the last lap he pulled off halfway round leaving the class win to Simon. John Pugsley made a great start and moved ahead of Roger Godfrey, Bob Bullen and David Lloyd on the opening lap before dropping back and into eventual retirement at half distance. Bob Bullen also retired his Anglia after a couple of laps leaving Roger’s Mini in a subdued seventh place but clear of David’s Mustang which had David Alexander’s Alfa to play with until it also retired with just a couple of laps to go. Graham Briggs, Nigel Parry and the DKWs were the final finishers after Stuart Kerr retired his Imp on lap five.

Peter Wray


Race 14

Race 21

Report and Photos to follow soon.

Comments are closed.